Biblical Soteriology

“If any of you want to know what I preach everyday, and any stranger should say, ‘Give me a summary of his doctrine,’ say this ‘ He preaches salvation all of grace, and damnation all of sin. He gives God all the glory for every soul that is saved, but he won’t have it that God is to blame for any man that is damned.’ That teaching I cannot understand. My soul revolts at the idea of a doctrine that lays the blood of man’s soul at God’s door. I cannot conceieve how any human mind, at least any Christian mind, can hold any such blasphemy as that. I delight to preach this blessed truth – salvation of God, from first to last – the alpha and the Omega; but when I come to preach damnation, I say, damnation of man, not of God; and if you perish, at your own hands must your blood be required”

-Spurgeon (Keathley, 103)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

