I Am The True Vine…(Thank you FCC)

I am the true vine…” (Jn 15:1)

Last week I had the awesome opportunity to speak to 15 to 20 junior-highers about walking with the LORD. My dad is a gym teacher at a local public middle school, and he heads-up a little group call FCC (Fellowship of Central’s Christians) that meets before school every Wednesday throughout the year. My heart was encouraged and warmed to see how many young people were willing to sacrifice extra sleeping time to be there…especially so close to the summer. That in and of itself is evidence of God’s presence there!

I asked them one main question…What does it mean to abide in Jesus? The answers that I got were to listen to him and to obey him. Sounds like the typical Sunday school answers…doesn’t it? Well, it wasn’t till this past Sunday, when our pastor preached on John 15, that I realized how perfect these answers actually were. They were dead on.

Jesus says “If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples. As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in His love. These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full” (v. 7-11)

We abide in Christ by listening to him and obeying him…hearing him and following him.

Thank you for teaching me young men and women! Your passion and your words have helped refine me. As you abide in Christ, may God give you that fullness of joy that is found exclusively in his Son.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

