Jesus Christ – Spiritual Security

“I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in an out and find pasture.” – John 10:9

“My sheep hear my voice and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand.” – John 10:27-28

Much like ancient eastern shepherd’s served as the physical protection of their sheep, Jesus Christ serves as the believer’s means of spiritual security. He is the sole means in approaching the Father and receiving God’s promised salvation.

Chapter 10 of John also gives a beautiful portrait of a master/disciple relationship. “Hear,” “listen,” “know,” “follow,” all of these terms denote a intimate relationship of obedience towards Christ. Christians don’t pick and chose which words of Christ’s to listen to. They aren’t distracted by the voice of others, because they no not the voice of strangers. They are fixed on the “abundant life” (v.10) that their master provides. All else in comparison looks dangerous and empty.

This is not legalism because the motivation is love. In comparison to the hired hand in verse 13 who cares not for the sheep, Jesus has a deep love for his own. The ultimate expression of which is found in his substitutionary death on the cross (“I lay down my life for the sheep”).

Follow the Good Shepherd – Jesus Christ. In him is spiritual security, proper pasture, abundant life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

